Learned on YouTube: Knitting

Once upon a time, back before crafts were “cool” and “trendy,” I used to sit on my grandmother’s screened-in back porch and crochet.  The only relic remaining of that time period is a collar I had made a stuffed dog named Bach.  It is red, a single row, and not very well executed.  Then again, I was nine-years-old and not the most patient of beings.

I remember consistently getting frustrated that my crocheted works kept turning into triangles.  The first two rows would be beautiful and it would slowly disintegrate into a curly, ugly mess.  I kind of assumed from my failure to make anything worthwhile, that yarn crafts were not for me.

Knitting has always held my interest.  I mean… you can make blankets and scarfs and these really cool gloves and….

But every knitter I knew did it so fast I couldn’t figure out what was going on.  So… on my way back from a meeting in Killeen, I stopped at Hobby Lobby, bought some wool yarn and the knitting needles they recommended on the yarn label.  Guided by the internet, in my car… in the parking lot of Temple College…. I taught myself how to knit.

Here’s what I found:

Prior to walking into Hobby Lobby, I found this pattern.  You don’t really NEED the pattern because it is beyond easy.  Here, I can even save you the click.  Cast on 8 stitches of any yarn that requires size 13 needles.  (And for reference sake, I’m working on a second scarf that uses size 10 needles and appropriate yarn and I’ve cast on 16 stitches and got to about the same size.)

Okay.  So… I needed to cast on.  I looked at pictures and still was mentally screwed as to what was going on.  Then I found this video:

 

When I had my 8 stitches, I felt a little confused.  It looked so… tiny.  I wanted a big, thick scarf!  (For a frame of reference, I believe my scarf ended up just a little less than twice the size of my cast on stitches.  Many sites suggest you knit at least 4 rows before I you judge the size of what you are knitting.)

Okay.  Now what.  I have eight pretty stitches that I’m staring at in my car going… “that was a little too easy.”

Next I watched:

The next day, after I had put a few good hours into the “skein” (yeah, yeah… you like that?  I have the lingo!), I was down to my last foot of yarn.  I’ll admit.  I had a lot of fun walking around with a half finished scarf going “LOOK!  I learned this on YouTube!”

Here’s how you end it and enjoy wearing it without having the needles poking out everywhere and a SKEIN of yarn following you like a lost puppy:

Okay.  So…   What did I end up with?

My next project?  (after the beautiful scarf I’m working on now)

Matching hats!  Circular needle knitting.  Good lord, I’m feeling quite like the old English teacher now.

Leave a Reply

