Whip It

Perhaps one of the reasons I was so excited about this whole “scheduled blog” thing was that I would finally…. FINALLY… watch some of the movies that have been sitting next to my TV forever.  Originally, I had planned to have one day a week be all about TV and movies.  Alas, I couldn’t bring myself to sign back up for cable and I didn’t want to force sitting in front of a television on myself. 

Needless to say, I used my blog as an excuse and made myself sit and watch one movie I was excited about but never made time to sit though.  So this week, I bring you….

WOW am I glad I did.  This movie is probably one of the best ones I have seen in an extremely long time.  Here are a few things I thought was amazing:

*It takes place in Texas and gives you wonderful shots of Austin.  You can pick it out if you’ve ever been there.  (SoCo gets a few highlights…)

*”Be Your Own Hero.”  How can you hate that tagline?!?

*Her mother… reminds me of my grandmother.  Not so much with the pageant thing but my grandmother was HUGE on me being a lady in the 1930 – 1950’s sense.

*Drew Barrymore is the director.  I found this really surprising.  Great job!

*Juliette Lewis.  Do I have to say more?

*Where the ending is somewhat predictable, it isn’t in the same respect. 

*Landon Pigg plays the boyfriend.  He’s REALLY a musician.  His music can also be heard on Grey’s Anatomy.  Most notably?  This past season’s shocking finale.  (The song was called “The Way it Ends.”)

Now I want to go teach myself how to roller skate so I can be all super-cool-roller-derby-chick.

 

Leave a Reply

