Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

The City of Temple has a lot going for it as far as being a resident is concerned.  You get “in district” pricing at the local community college that offers a great variety of classes at all times of the day and evening.  You have a city-owned fitness center that is complete with a rock climbing wall, yoga, pilates, spin, and a swimming pool.  The cherry on top of all of this is the library.  Temple has an absolutely amazing library.

When I was planning my trip to Colorado for my first PIE interview, I was desperate for any kind of music or entertainment that would keep me awake through the hours of grasslands and open prairie that I had to cross before reaching paradise.  I went to Temple Public Library in search of audiobooks that might be as interesting as the ones I had listened to on my previous trip to North Carolina (Freakonomics and Ender’s Game).

With new Harry Potter movies coming out soon, I opted to refresh my memory by listening to all seven books on audiobook.  Yeah.  I’m slightly sadist.

To my utter surprise, the first Harry Potter audiobook was… entertaining.  REALLY entertaining.  The reader did all of the voices for each and every character (even Hermoine and Harry’s aunt, Petunia).  He even had a British accent.  It almost felt like someone was playing BBC through my radio.  In a good way.  (I happen to like BBC.)

The series, however, doesn’t continue with this reader.  Book 2 or 3 switches over to someone different who takes a few chapters to get used to.  Still British, still Harry Potter… just missing something.

Needless to say, if you are a Potter fan and you’re looking to brush up before the big movie release… I highly suggest the first audiobook.  The others… well, the jury is still out.

2 responses to “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

    • I haven’t watched the movies yet. I keep meaning to start them… and then I just don’t. I think I have #1 and #4 at home… somewhere…. in a box….

Leave a Reply

