April Book Thoughts

Dexter in the Dark

The *WORST* Dexter book.  By a long shot.

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

For a “tween” book, it dealt with a lot of situations that I thought were important for kids to experience.  I actually liked the characters in the book a lot more than the movie.  This was honestly one of those rare books where I saw the movie first and STILL thought the book was better.  Bridget didn’t get on my nerves nearly as much and the Bailey situation struck some hearstrings.  It was such a great experience I actually bought the second book.

Dexter by Design

Dexter has been saved!  Well, at least somewhat.  I’m with a few other reviewers where I think that Jeff Lindsey is taking after the TV show instead of keeping to the original Dexter Plan.  The end of the book came out of nowhere and sounded a lot like what was going on in the last season.  Not a complete return from the Depths of Horrible that he had plunged into… but it is at least something of a comeback. 

Inside of a Dog

Finally, a non-fiction pick!  I have been searching for an affordable version of this book and actually picked it up at the library.  As a dog fanatic (ask anyone who knows me), I’m always looking for new information on my favorite animal.  This was such a great look into what we know as scientific facts about how dogs perceive the world.  It also helps with dealing with my fuzzy best buddy.  I highly suggest it.  She makes the information fun and entertaining.  I would suggest it if you’re “into” dogs. 

Bloodsucking Fiends

I had missed Bloodsucking Fiends on accident when I first started reading Christopher Moore.  I have to say that even thought I KNEW where this was going (since I had already read the second book), I had a lot of fun getting caught up to speed.  His writing style is the dry humor that I adore.  I’m looking forward to reading the last installment.  From sneak peek, I see we get to hear more from Abby Normal.  Yay!

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

I decided to read a childhood favorite again.  This was one of the ones I remember loving.  Now that I’ve read it as an adult, I really get the full implication of the novel.  What an exciting book.  I remember being very worried about Timmy.  I also remember thinking that it didn’t end the way that I wanted it to.  I remember wondering what happened to the other rat.  I have been trying to revisit a lot of favorites lately and I have been impressed with my overall choices as a kid… this was another one.  I still want !to know what happened to that rat!!

Leave a Reply

