Glutton

A good friend of mine participated in NaNoWriMo last year and I have to admit, I was insanely jealous.  As a writer by education, you would think I would have been *all* over that.  Unfortunately, I didn’t find out about it until it was too late in the month to even begin to try to catch up to other writers.  The ultimate goal is to write 50k words in a month.  Luckily, she started posting about her NaNoWriMo plans early enough that I could (1) sign up on the website to participate and (2) start plotting my own NaNoWriMo.

I also found a 2nd generation Nano on Ebay a few weeks ago.  I’ve played with it some… ran with it a few times… then picked up a Nike+ sensor and adapter.  I’ve been searching this Texas town for a track to calibrate my sensor on.  I want it to be as pinpoint accurate as possible, which requires me to use something a little more trusty that my odometer.  (For one, my odometer only does to the tenths place.  I wanted to calibrate at a 1/4 of a mile.  Second, where does the measurement begin?  From my tires?  And there isn’t a place to drive that is exactly a half mile that I can run.  The half-mile mark always ends up in the middle of some stretch of road where there is no marker to remember it.)  So, I called my gym and asked them if they either had a track that I hadn’t seen yet or if they knew where one was that I could utilize.  They told me early in the mornings on weekdays and during the weekend the track was usually open at the high school.  Sweet!

Apparently, the marching band takes over the entire field for a good portion of the day on Saturday.  This was not exactly what I had understood when I asked around for a track to run on.  So I sat and waited for a little while, because it appeared they were all rushing toward the locker room side of the gym.  Nope… just some weird band geek move.  And it wouldn’t have been half bad if they were just in the football field.  I mean… How could about 50 high school students marching take up much more than the grassy area of a football field, right?

Wrong.  Dead wrong.  Those little bastards were EVERYWHERE.   So I went back to my favorite running spot and ran without calibrating it.  Turns out, my little “fun” run is just over a mile.  Not bad… I was afraid I was doing a half a mile and thinking I’m a bad ass.

I came home and started playing with the Nike+ website.  They have goals and challenges.  And you get little things on your profile for meeting and winning the goals and challenges.  Unfortunately, I am a sucker for achievement medals.  I believe it is because my grandparents never allowed me to participate in anything that produced achievement medals and plaques, so now as an adult I gravitate to them.  Destroyed childhood aside, I signed up for a couple challenges.  Which means for the next month, I’m going to be a running fool to get my profile shiny doodads.

NaNoWriMo and running obsession aside, I’m still in school full time and we’re ramping up for the last month or so of class.  We have final papers due, tests to take, and tempers are flaring.  Or at least mine is.  Just let me do my work and you do yours.  We’ll see how it pans out in the end.  I play well with others on occasion, but constantly sticking people into groups is *no* way to teach.  I understand its easier for the lazy ones because they do the bare minimum that their group insists.  They’re usually the “speech givers” or the “artists” of the group.  This climate is not conducive to all-around learning.  My Technical Communications class?  All group work.  And I’m not even very particularly fond of my group.  Or its unspoken leader.

And work… We’re finally staying in one place for a little while.  The last week had me bouncing all over Central Texas.  I barely had time to think let alone do anything else.  So now my house is destroyed, my office *still* isn’t set up, and students are coming up to see me looking for answers to all of their probing questions.  Questions they never trained me to answer.  And I’m job hunting.  Again.  Currently, on my days in the office, I sit and read my textbooks and try to get ahead in class.  Or I work on papers.  Or I just sit and chat on Yahoo! Messenger.  But this behavior can only happen for so long before Bitchzilla in the next cubicle gets her tampon strings in a knot and complains.  The woman is loud.  And makes the floor bounce when she’s excited.  And she has snide comments to *everything.*  I avoid her like H1N1.

My 365 is still going.  I have a few more months of it left.  My pictures seem like they have become repetitive and dumb.  As pointed out by someone near and dear, I have an affinity for half-face pictures and bed shots.  I really need to do something to make this project better.  I’m so close to the end, I really don’t want it to suck.

As you can tell from my wonderful list of goings-on, I believe I am a glutton for punishment.  Or stress.  Or maybe both.  Boo.

3 responses to “Glutton

  1. I have participated in, and completed, the NaNoWriMo twice before and am planning on it this year.

    Do I have a story in mind? Nope.

    EEEEK!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

